Institut Humor Indonesia Kini (IHIK)

Kajian Humor Indonesia dan Mancanegara

Dilbert 2.0

dilbert

Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert Hardcover – October 21, 2008 by Scott Adams (Author)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Book Description
Scott Adams “is a VERY tough act to follow.” –Suzanne Tobin, Washington Post

In the tradition of The Complete Far Side and The Complete Calvin and Hobbes, Dilbert 2.0 celebrates the 20th anniversary of Scott Adams’s Dilbert, the touchstone of office humor.

This special slipcased collection–weighing in at more than ten pounds with 600 pages and featuring almost 4,000 strips–takes readers behind the scenes and into the early days of Scott Adams’s life pre-Dilbert and on to the success that followed when Dilbert became an internationally syndicated sensation.

Divided into five different epochs, Dilbert 2.0 gives readers a glance at some of Adams’s earliest strips, like those created for Playboy, and a peek at an abundance of special content ranging from numerous rejection letters to Adams’s first cartooning check, and more.

Adams personally selected the material for this collection and offers original comments and humorous asides throughout. Also included is a disc that contains every Dilbert comic strip to April 2008.

Amazon.com Exclusive: “How to Read a Book in One Minute”

About the Author

Scott Adams was born in Windham, NY, and moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in 1979. Scott has won multiple National Cartoonists Society Awards, and the Dilbert strip has received a Harvey Award and won the Max and Moritz Prize as best international comic strip.

Biography

What started as a doodle has turned Scott Adams into a superstar of the cartoon world. Dilbert debuted on the comics page in 1989 while Adams was in the tech department at Pacific Bell. Adams continued to work at Pacific Bell until he was voluntarily downsized in 1995. He has lived in the San Francisco Bay area since 1979.

Product details

 Ultimate Bang for your Buck

Bymanbearpigon November 17, 2009

Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase

I love Dilbert. It is my favorite single panel comic series. I don’t remember how I got subscribed to their daily feed but I have been receiving it every day in my inbox since over a year now. Most people start their day with coffee – all I need is Dilbert. I guess I like it so much because I can identify with Dilbert to some extent. I believe all cubicle workers must feel the same way.

I received my copy of Dilbert 2.0 yesterday. I’d rate the product print and bind quality as top notch. This is a huge book, almost 2 inches thick (~600 pages) and very heavy. The book itself comes in a card board case. The image you see here on the product description page is that of the card board case. I’ll try to put some pictures of the real product soon. I was very impressed with the overall quality of this book (especially considering the fact that Amazon regularly sells this for more than 50% off its MSRP). The pages are soft to touch and semi glossy. This book is divided into various segments of approximately 4-5 years each, namely The Early Years, The Dot Com Bubble, The Modern Era and such. The Introduction section was a pleasant surprise. Instead of the usual boring acknowledgments and inspirations and whatnots, Scott Adams decided to provide a flashback of how Dilbert came into existence. It’s best if I don’t reveal much here and simply say that I found it to be very readable, likable and funny. I haven’t yet started reading the actual Dilbert comics yet but it doesn’t really matter. All I wanted was to have my very own collection of the best of Dilbert. The included CD also has colorful images of the regular characters on top and is pretty to look at. I don’t really plan on inserting it in my computer ever. I’m a fan of Dilbert/Scott Adams and I’m very happy with this purchase. Now I’m looking to score a good deal on Dilbert 6-Piece Action Figures Set.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: